1757 - Treaty of Schwerin

From Project Seven Years War
Jump to navigationJump to search

Hierarchical Path: Seven Years War (Main Page) >> Treaties >> 1757 - Treaty of Schwerin

The treaty was signed on April 1, 1757


On April 1 1757 in Schwerin, the Duke of Mecklenburg-Schwerin concluded a treaty with France by which:

  • the Duchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin would not support the enemies of France
  • French troops and troops allied to France would be authorised free passage through the duchy
  • France would intercede in Vienna to allow the duchy to recover the places lost to Hanover in 1735
  • the Duke would have between 5,000 and 6,000 men ready to serve in French pay

The Duke of Mecklenburg-Schwerin also hoped to exert his claim on the Duchy of Lauenburg against the Electorate of Hanover and to obtain the city of Wismar and the towns of Poel and Neukloster from the Swedes once the latter would have recovered Prussian Pomerania.


Grosser Generalstab Kriegsgeschichtliche Abteilung II: Die Kriege Friedrichs des Grossen, Part 3 Der siebenjährige Krieg 1756-1763, Vol. 5 Hastenbeck und Roßbach, Berlin, 1903, p. 157